VisualStudio as my IronPython editor

The following steps are what I did to get Visual Studio ready as my IronPython (and IronRuby) editor.

* Install the latest internal dogfood build of Visual Studio 2008.
o you may use Visual Studio 2005 or download the VS 2008 public beta2;
* Download and install ASP.NET futures release (July 2007). This will give me the nice syntax coloring and (well… limited) intellisense for python code.
o you may download VSSDK 2008 CTP, and build the IronPython integration sample, which will give you the similar editing experience;
* Download the attached add-in binary zip (poorly named as DlrToolsAddin); for my Vista box, I extract them under “%USERPROFILE%\Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Addins”. I wrote this add-in basically to allow me to run the script inside the Visual Studio, and show the output in the output window.
o if you consider using it for VS 2005, you will need put it in “Visual Studio 2005\Addins”.

Say, I am trying the example in my previous post, I create a new C# file (sample.cs) without creating solution/project, I can press Ctrl+1 (or the first button in the DlrTools toobar) to get it compiled to sample.dll in the local directory. You see the compile result at the bottom output window. Then I create a python file (method.py) in the same directory, type in some code (shown in color). Again, I can press Ctrl+1, the result are shown in the output window. I do not need leave VS and run these files in the cmd.exe window.

Sometimes I want to run the same code with different tools (for example, to check IronPython compatibility, I often run the same .py file against C-Python 2.5 too). That is the first combo box comes to play.

The second combo box is to set the working directory: “.” means the current directory where the active file lives, “..” for the parent directory of the current file, or you may use the absolute path. Such support is needed to run C-Python regression tests. (For the add-in implementation side, I feel what I really want is a combo box of type vsCommandControlTypeDynamicCombo, which seems not available for add-in development).

The delete button is to remove your tool choice for those files you pressed “Run Script”. By clicking the last button, an XML file (specifying which tools for which file extension) is opened so you may change it. You must update it with your tool paths, since the default setting is suited for myself.

You may also run part of the file by selecting those lines first (A temporary file is created and will be deleted after VS shutdown).

One bad thing I noticed of this add-in is that sometimes I press the “run script” button to start debugging, both icons have similar shapes.

To uninstall it, delete DlrToolsAddin.* files under “Addins”; and then run once “devenv.exe /resetaddin DlrToolsAddin.Connect”.

The source code (VS2008 project) is also attached. Disclaimer: THE CODE IS PROVIDED “AS IS”, WITH NO WARRANTIES INTENDED OR IMPLIED. USE AT YOUR OWN RISK. Hope you like Visual Studio as your IronPython editor.

Download Source Code Attached

33 responses to this post.

  1. Hello Webmaster, I noticed that https://dennosecqtinstien.wordpress.com/2012/02/24/visualstudio-as-my-ironpython-editor/ is ranking pretty low on Google and has a low Google PageRank. Now the Google PageRank is how Google is able to see how relevant your webpage is compared to all the other webpages online, if you cannot rank high at the top of Google, then you will NOT get the traffic you need. Now usually trying to get to the top of Google costs hundreds if not thousands of dollars and very highly optimized targeted marketing campaigns that takes a team of experts months to achieve. However, we can show you how to get to the top of Google with no out of pocket expenses (free traffic), no stupid ninja tricks, no silly mind control techniques, and this will be all white hat with no blackhat software or tactics that could possibly land you on bad terms with Google and put you in the dreaded “Google Sandbox”. We’ll show you how to easily capture all the targeted traffic you need, for free, multiple ways to land fast (not months) first-page rankings in Google and other major search engines (Bing, Yahoo, Ask, etc), even show you strategies on how to earn daily commissions just try Ranking Top of Google, please check out our 5 minute video.

  2. seems a facial renovation for a old guy which is going on date to meet a young lady

  3. Its superb as your other content : D, thanks for posting .

  4. I intended to put you a tiny remark to finally give many thanks yet again about the breathtaking tricks you’ve provided in this article. This has been particularly open-handed of people like you giving easily what many of us would have marketed for an e book in order to make some dough for themselves, principally considering the fact that you could have tried it if you ever considered necessary. The good ideas likewise acted as the easy way to know that other people have similar passion like my very own to know lots more related to this problem. I know there are thousands of more pleasurable periods up front for many who view your blog post.

  5. Gems form the internet…

  6. I needed to post you the very small observation so as to say thanks a lot once again on your magnificent guidelines you have shared above. It is so open-handed of you to make freely precisely what a few individuals could possibly have sold for an ebook to make some bucks on their own, even more so now that you could possibly have tried it in the event you considered necessary. These good tips additionally worked to be the easy way to recognize that other people have the same fervor just like my very own to understand a little more in respect of this issue. I’m certain there are lots of more fun periods in the future for individuals who examine your blog post.

  7. Hello there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one? Thanks a lot!

  8. Hey, I just stopped by to visit your website and thought I’d say I had a great visit.

  9. Good Morning, I just stopped in to visit your website and thought I’d say thanks for having me.

  10. Wow, marvelous weblog structure! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging glance easy. The whole look of your site is magnificent, as smartly as the content!

  11. I’m really loving the theme/design of your website. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems? A small number of my blog readers have complained about my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any suggestions to help fix this issue?

  12. I am a HUGE fan of Pinterest. I am a single of those who is addicted to the web-site and likely have a very dozen boards entire of stuff. I did receive a few pointers from reading this such as being able to add contributors to my boards. One particular complaint about Pinterest that We have is that there seems to be a lot of junk filling up the pages now such as viral images and so on.

  13. YOUR Content INSPIRING ME To have TRAFFIC FROM SQUIDOO.. THANK

  14. Although the convenience of email cannot be denied, the act of receiving and reading a snailmail letter is by far the better experience. So kudos to you!
    I understand that the letters are not personalized, but are they physically signed by the sender? That would be such a good touch and an individual for which I’d gladly pay more. Perhaps the sender could sign a small percentage, so that a randomly chosen few each and every week would have a very little extra thrill. That possibility would absolutely make my heart race a bit faster as I tore open the envelope!

  15. And how can I share my internet using N wifi, i’m able to create only G adhoc ;[

  16. Im getting a browser error, is anyone else?

  17. I Will have to return again whenever my course load lets up – however I am getting your Rss feed so i could go through your site offline. Cheers.

  18. Whenever I at first left a comment I clicked the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and currently each and every time a comment is added I get four email messages with the same comment.

  19. Although I genuinely like this post, I think there was an punctuational error shut towards the end from the third sentence.

  20. I appreciate your wp theme, where did you get a hold of it?

  21. I believe one of your ads caused my web browser to resize, you might well want to place that on your blacklist.

  22. As soon as I initially commented I clicked on the Notify me any time new comments are added checkbox and now each time a remark is added I receive four emails with the exact same comment.

  23. I adore the website layout . How did you make it!? Its very sweet!

  24. I have got 1 recommendation for your website. It looks like at this time there are a couple of cascading stylesheet problems while opening a selection of web pages inside google chrome as well as internet explorer. It is working fine in internet explorer. Possibly you can double check that.

  25. Whenever I originally commented I clicked the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and currently each time a comment is added I receive four email messages with the same comment.

  26. I believe one of your current ads triggered my internet browser to resize, you might well want to place that on your blacklist.

  27. Amazing article, thanks, I will bookmark you now.

  28. In Los Angeles we you should not have pizza. We now have some one’s thought of what pizza could be like if only it ended up not pizza.

  29. If you would like to take much from this paragraph then you have to apply such techniques to your won webpage. The techniques pointed out in this post regarding to increase traffic at you own web site are genuinely good, thanks for such good article.

  30. One more thing that I desire to share here is that, whatever you are using free blogging service however if you don’t update your website on on a regular basis basis then it’s no more attraction.Hmmm, yup no doubt Google is finest for blogging but today word press is also good as a blogging for the reason that its Search engine marketing is pleasant defined already.

  31. You have very nice blog here. Only one thing what I noticed, it was very hard to find it from google (at least with my search term). You should try this: http://bit.ly/11UpQn2 It will get you better ranking in google. I use it all my wp blogs.If you have any problems to use it, just send me email and I try to help. If you dont have wp, check this out: http://bit.ly/13T2ILb

  32. It’s not always easy to stay favourable, but bordering myself with wonderful pals in addition to a suportive family often makes it easier. I remind myself constantly that every day is really a present, and we have been lucky to awaken every early morning and take piece in it…

  33. The Zune concentrates on being a Portable Media Player. Not a web browser. Not a game machine. Maybe in the future it’ll do even better in those areas, but for now it’s a fantastic way to organize and listen to your music and videos, and is without peer in that regard. The iPod’s strengths are its web browsing and apps. If those sound more compelling, perhaps it is your best choice.

Comments are closed.

