How to Install Windows Applications on Linux Using Crossover

This guest article was written by Syed Abbas from TNerd.com,
a blog focused on technology news, tricks and tips.

Transitioning
from Windows to Linux often leaves you scratching your head,
wondering what software to use for common tasks. Sure, Linux has
alternative software, but sometimes you just want to install a
Windows application that you are used to.

For
example, if you are very comfortable working on Photoshop, getting
started with Gimp will take some time. In such cases installing a
windows application on Linux is the only option you are left with to
complete your task quickly.

Today
we are going to see how to get these Windows applications running on
Linux using the well known Crossover Linux software. It’s not
free, but you can download a demo and try it out.

Installing
CrossOver Professional

Once
you have downloaded the file (install-crossover-pro-7.0.0.sh) open a
terminal window go to the directory where you have downloaded
install-crossover-pro-7.0.0.sh and execute the following command.

$ sh install-crossover-pro-7.0.0.sh

The
following window will appear. Accept the License by clicking OK.

Once
you have clicked OK the installation window will open. Enter the
desired installation path and click “Begin Install” to
start the installation.

 

 

After
a few seconds crossover professional will be installed on your
machine. If you have the registration code you can enter it by
following the steps below (Registering CrossOver Professional) or if
you are using this software in trial mode skip to the next section to
start installing windows software.

Registering
CrossOver Professional

Click
Applications and select “Register and unlock this demo”
under the CrossOver menu.

 

You
will be presented with the Product Registration Window. Once you have
entered your registration details your copy of CrossOver will be
upgraded.

  

Using
CrossOver Professional

Now,
we’ll see how to install Windows software using Linux CrossOver
Pro. Start the installation by clicking
Applications->CrossOver->Install Windows Software.

  

As
you can see in the snapshot below you can either select the software
listed or you can choose to install unsupported software. I am going
to install an unsupported free windows software called 
Xvid
converter
.

Select
Install unsupported software and click the Next button.

  

Select
the installation file of Xvid Converter and click Next.

Run
through the regular installation process.

 

Make
sure that you select a different directory, preferably one in your
home directory. In my case it is
 Z:\home\vivek\untitled
folder\Xvid Converter

 

 

 

That’s
it, you have finished installing the application! You can launch by
going to Applications-> Windows Applications-> Xvid Converter->
Xvid Converter.

  

The
following screenshot shows you Xvid Converter in action:

  

Now
you can experiment by installing different applications. If you want
to uninstall any of the applications you have installed using
CrossOver, go to Applications->CrossOver->Configuration.

  

Select
the bottle in which you installed your application and click
Repair/Remove. Your application will be uninstalled.

Note:
We tested this application on Ubuntu 8.10.

Conclusion

Although
a good number of applications are supported and can be installed, not
all windows based applications can be ported to Linux using Linux
CrossOver Pro. For example I couldn’t install Adobe DreamWeaver
CS4 using Linux CrossOver Pro. It’s still a great product that
helps you transition to using Linux.

Editor’s
Note:
 This
is a guest review of a non-free software package, but we like this
application here and neither of us make any money from recommending
it. We are fans of full disclosure and would never recommend
something we haven’t tried ourselves.
Download
Crossover Linux Trial from codeweavers.com

56 responses to this post.

  1. I’d like to start blogging but I have no idea which website to use? Which ones are the best?.

    • @Beth Nez,
      first of all thanks for your blog-post reply
      now i will suggest you that for blogging you donot have to look for a website from where you will get the data and will post on your blogs. basically you all have to choose the topic of your blog post (as there are lots of free websites which provide you free shared domain names, wordpress is best for php sites and provides a user friendly environment).
      so i think you will have chosen your topic of blogs and have started your blogging till now.

      Regards
      Denno Secqtinstien Foundation Team,

  2. thanks for blog post.

  3. I conceive this site has some really wonderful info for everyone. “A man’s dreams are an index to his greatness.” by Zadok Rabinwitz.

  4. Make measurable progress in reasonable time. Jim Rohn

  5. This was a great blog! Keep it up!

  6. Thank you for this backlink, I really appreciate it and am most grateful for your generosity.

  7. Generally I do not learn post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to take a look at and do so! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thanks, very nice post.

  8. Very useful, thank you.

  9. I was on Twitter looking for Neiko Automotive Tools when I found a link to this blog, happy I stopped by Cheers

  10. I want to express some thanks to the writer for rescuing me from this trouble. After browsing throughout the world wide web and finding thoughts that were not productive, I was thinking my life was over. Living without the solutions to the problems you have fixed through your entire report is a crucial case, as well as the kind that could have in a negative way affected my career if I had not discovered your web page. Your good mastery and kindness in playing with almost everything was helpful. I’m not sure what I would have done if I had not encountered such a solution like this. I can also at this time look forward to my future. Thanks very much for the high quality and result oriented help. I will not think twice to propose your blog post to any individual who needs and wants guidelines on this situation.

  11. Thanks for any other informative site. The place else may just I am getting that kind of information written in such an ideal method? I’ve a project that I’m simply now working on, and I have been on the look out for such info.

  12. If you don’t like how things are, change it! You’re not a tree. Jim Rohn

  13. Along with every thing that seems to be building inside this subject material, your opinions tend to be fairly exciting. On the other hand, I am sorry, but I do not subscribe to your whole strategy, all be it exciting none the less. It seems to me that your commentary are generally not completely rationalized and in reality you are generally your self not even totally certain of the point. In any event I did appreciate reading it.

  14. Hi! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading through your articles. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same topics? Thanks for your time!

  15. I really like what you’ve done with the thmeme but I was asking myself if you are the one that created it or you just bought it and customized it?

  16. salutations from over the ocean. excellent article I shall return for more.

  17. This article has inspired me to start working on my own blog

  18. May i simply just claim what a relief to discover someone that definitely knows exactly what they are writing about on the web. You certainly figure out how to bring a dilemma out and make the idea crucial. More people need to check out this and appreciate this side of the article. I can’t believe you aren’t very popular given that you certainly possess the talent.

  19. Amusing! I’m social bookmarking you internet site for long term utilize.

  20. Another awesome article!

  21. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content for you personally? I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome web log!

  22. Thanks for finding the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and really like learning more about this topic. If possible, while you gain knowledge, would you mind updating your blog site with additional information?

  23. Some good tips and info.. it is important to experiment with distinctive placement ideas or ad content material types. trying out distinct things and monitoring the success can come up with a big difference into the number of clicks/revenue

  24. I’m not planning to unfollow you Maybe your followers really don’t know what to say back to you

  25. I want to express my respect for your generosity giving support to people that require help on this important matter. Your very own commitment to getting the message all through came to be quite useful and has constantly encouraged guys just like me to get to their dreams. Your new insightful recommendations signifies a great deal to me and additionally to my colleagues. Thanks a ton; from everyone of us.

  26. magic hour pro hdr camera should be added

  27. There are some fascinating deadlines in this short article nonetheless I do not know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity but I’ll just take hold feeling till I look into it further. Excellent article , thanks and we wish extra! Added to FeedBurner as properly

  28. Im getting a browser error, is anyone else?

  29. This really solved my problem, thank you!

  30. I appreciate your wordpress web template, where did you get a hold of it?

  31. Im having a teeny issue. I cant get my reader to pick-up your rss feed, Im using msn reader by the way.

  32. Have you thought about adding some videos to the article? I think it might enhance viewers understanding.

  33. Odd , your site shows up with a black color to it, what shade is the primary color on your site?

  34. Just to let you know your web-site looks a little bit strange in Firefox on my pc with Linux .

  35. When are you going to post again? You really entertain a lot of people!

  36. The majority of of the comments on this particular blog site dont make sense.

  37. Im getting a tiny issue. I cant get my reader to pickup your feed, Im using yahoo reader by the way.

  38. I Am Going To have to visit again when my course load lets up – nevertheless I am taking your Rss feed so i can read your site offline. Thanks.

  39. When are you going to post again? You really inform a lot of people!

  40. really helpful material, all round I picture this is worthy of a book mark, many thanks

  41. After I start your Feed it appears to be a lot of garbage, is the problem on my part?

  42. This website has got some very helpful info on it. Thanks for helping me!

  43. Jesus Christ there is a lot of spammy feedback on this website. Have you at any time believed about trying to get rid of them or putting in a tool?

  44. The look for the web site is a little bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your web site. I may have to use a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  45. Odd , your post turns up with a dark hue to it, what color is the primary color on your web-site?

  46. When I initially left a comment I clicked on the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and currently each and every time a comment is added I receive 4 messages with the same comment.

  47. Although I truly like this post, I believe there was an punctuational error close towards the end of your 3rd section.

  48. I like that website layout . How did you make it!? Its very cool!

  49. Between me and my husband we’ve owned more MP3 players over the years than I can count, including Sansas, iRivers, iPods (classic & touch), the Ibiza Rhapsody, etc. But, the last few years I’ve settled down to one line of players. London Olympics Medal Tally

  50. This is one awesome pience of shit ! 😀

  51. This is one awesome pience of shit ! 😀

  52. Love your blog!

  53. I’ll gear this review to 2 types of people: current Zune owners who are considering an upgrade, and people trying to decide between a Zune and an iPod. (There are other players worth considering out there, like the Sony Walkman X, but I hope this gives you enough info to make an informed decision of the Zune vs players other than the iPod line as well.)

Comments are closed.

