Different Ways to Install Applications On Android Without The Market

Installing apps on Android is relatively straightforward with the Android Market. You search for an app, select it and click install. However, there are often times when you may want to install a newly released app or an app that is not available in the Android Market. In these cases you will usually have to manually download and install an .apk file. An .apk file behaves in a similar manner to a “.exe” file on Windows, you need to copy it to your device and run it. Here are some ways that you can manually install an application without going through the market.

Enable Unknown Sources

Before attempting a manual installation of apps using the .apk files, you must first allow your phone to install from “Unknown Sources” (i.e. non-Market apps).

To do this, navigate to Menu -> Settings -> Applications and check the box marked “Unknown Sources“.

apkinstaller-unknown

1. Installing app Using The Conventional Method

Step 1: Install File Manager

Android does not natively come with any method of browsing the data on your SD card, so you will need to install a file manager from a market. There are a large variety of file managers available on Android, but my personal favourite is ASTRO File Manager.

astro file manager-main

Step 2: Copy .apk file to SD card

Once you have ASTRO File Manager installed, connect your Android device to your PC using your USB cable. Mount the SD card and copy over the .apk file you would like to install.

Step 3: Install .apk

On your Android device, navigate to the .apk file using ASTRO File Manager and select it.

This will open a dialog box allowing you to install the app. Select “Open App Manager“.

apkinstaller-app

On the next two pages, select “Install” and “Install” again to install the .apk.

apkinstaller-installapp

apkinstaller-appinstall

Your new app is now installed.

2. Installing app using Dropbox

Dropbox is really a versatile app and is a waste if we don’t fully utilize it. The method is simple. In your computer, download the apk file to your Dropbox folder. Let it finish syncing. In your phone, open the Dropbox app, navigate to the folder where you keep the apk file, click on it. Dropbox will then download the apk file. The usual installation follows.

3. Installing app Using the Online Apk Installer

The online apk installer is a web app created by a helpful XDA-Developers forum member htc-hd2, with the aim to make manual installation of an .apk file much easier. It is useful if you want to share an apk file with a friend.

Step 1: Upload File

First, navigate to www.apkinstall.com.

Here you will see a black “Browse Files…” button. Select this and choose the apk file on your PC.

apkinstaller-browse

The apk file will remain active on the website for 15 minutes.

Step 2: Scan QR Code

Once you have uploaded the file, a QR code will appear on the website.

apkinstaller-qrcode

You must scan this QR code with a Barcode Scanner. The website suggests using Barcode Scanner, however I personally prefer using Google Goggles.

apkinstaller-barcode

Once the QR code has scanned, you can click on the link to download the .apk file straight to your device.

Step 3: Install .apk

After the .apk file has downloaded to your Android device you can install it by simply clicking on it and navigating through the installation pages.

apkinstaller-download

Conclusion

Most users will probably be comfortable using the conventional method of installing Android apps. However, if you have a less tech-savvy friend who you want to share an apk with, you can always remotely upload it and send them the QR code to scan using their phone. This way they will not have to fiddle around with copying the apk to their phone and opening it using a file manager.

Let us know in the comments if you have been able to use this tool.

64 responses to this post.

  1. My brother suggested I may like this web site. He was totally right. This post actually made my day. You can not believe simply how a lot time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  2. Hi there! This really is my 1st review right here so I wanted to provide a quick scream out there and also let you know We truly get pleasure from studying your blog content. Could you advocate another sites And sites / message boards that cover a similar topics? Appreciate it!

  3. Great website you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics talked about here? I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get feed-back from other experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

    • sorry Elinor, I donot know any of the Discussion board that cover the same topics talked about here? because these topics are my own and are interrelated to my Foundation

    • as per the name suggests for Denno Secqtinstien Foundation (ISSUE TRACKING, REPORTING AND RESOLVING SITE FOR DS FOUNDATION) so is the works for it so i canot recommend you any of the forum or board.

  4. I’ve just been bitten by a bug and I have to read and read.

  5. Hello, i believe that i noticed you visited my weblog so i got here to go back the favor?.I am trying to find things to enhance my website!I suppose its ok to make use of a few of your ideas!!

  6. This design is wicked! You certainly know how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  7. Amazing blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your design. Kudos

  8. Hi my loved one! I want to say that this post is amazing, great written and include approximately all significant infos. I would like to peer more posts like this .

  9. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts in this kind of house . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this site. Studying this information So i’m glad to convey that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed. I so much no doubt will make sure to do not put out of your mind this website and give it a glance on a continuing basis.

  10. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

  11. car remap sunderland

  12. My spouse and i felt so fortunate Michael could carry out his analysis by way of the precious recommendations he discovered in your web site. It is now and again perplexing to simply find yourself handing out secrets and techniques which the rest may have been trying to sell. And we fully understand we have got the blog owner to be grateful to for that. The specific explanations you have made, the easy website navigation, the relationships you make it possible to create – it’s mostly sensational, and it’s letting our son in addition to our family imagine that the article is thrilling, and that is highly essential. Thanks for everything!

  13. Good read, thanks for the quality information.

  14. Much appreciation for this blog post. Pretty fascinating and accurately penned blog. Thank you over again – I will visit again.

  15. Very entertaining post. I felt your blog post is truly interesting. I look forward to discover more such in future.

  16. I am very happy to read this. This is the type of manual that needs to become given and not the random misinformation that’s at the other blogs. Get pleasure from your sharing this greatest doc.

  17. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Excellent work!

  18. I like your helpful post. awesome information. I hope you write many. I will continue reading

  19. Really superb info can be found on this weblog.

  20. Hello there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

  21. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

  22. Uncovered your short article quite intriguing in fact. I truly loved looking at it and you make quite some great details. I am going to bookmark this web site for the long run! Relly good post.

  23. Awesome job over again! I am looking forward for your next post.

  24. Hello Web Admin, I noticed that your On-Page SEO is is missing a few factors, for one you do not use all three H tags in your post, also I notice that you are not using bold or italics properly in your SEO optimization. On-Page SEO means more now than ever since the new Google update: Panda. No longer are backlinks and simply pinging or sending out a RSS feed the key to getting Google PageRank or Alexa Rankings, You now NEED On-Page SEO. So what is good On-Page SEO?First your keyword must appear in the title.Then it must appear in the URL.You have to optimize your keyword and make sure that it has a nice keyword density of 3-5% in your article with relevant LSI (Latent Semantic Indexing). Then you should spread all H1,H2,H3 tags in your article.Your Keyword should appear in your first paragraph and in the last sentence of the page. You should have relevant usage of Bold and italics of your keyword.There should be one internal link to a page on your blog and you should have one image with an alt tag that has your keyword….wait there’s even more Now what if i told you there was a simple WordPress plugin that does all the On-Page SEO, and automatically for you? That’s right AUTOMATICALLY, just watch this 4minute video for more information at. WordPress Seo Plugin

  25. Excellent blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any suggestions? Thank you!

  26. Now i am the one 1 in my circle of close friends who utilizes facebook.com, are we weird? LoL

  27. LhCHY1 aybfvvcqqzvq, [url=http://doglkhjtfinx.com/]doglkhjtfinx[/url], [link=http://hbpspridgcqs.com/]hbpspridgcqs[/link], http://jqegdpsedooy.com/

  28. I’m not sure exactly why but this site is loading incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  29. Discovered your short article pretty exciting without a doubt. I seriously liked studying it therefore you make fairly some excellent points. I will bookmark this website with the upcoming! Relly good content.

  30. Discovered your write-up extremely appealing certainly. I genuinely experienced browsing it therefore you make quite some superior points. I’ll bookmark this website to the long run! Relly excellent post.

  31. Greetings I am so grateful I found your weblog, I really found you by mistake, while I was researching on Aol for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a incredible post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

  32. You are a very smart individual!

  33. Found your short article pretty exciting in truth. I seriously really enjoyed looking at it and you also make rather some great factors. I am going to bookmark this internet site for your potential! Relly fantastic content.

  34. I discovered your weblog site on google and check a few of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the excellent operate. I simply further up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Searching for ahead to reading extra from you in a while!…

  35. then u guys hv to check this

  36. wordpress rocks. I’m working on wordpress from past few many years, i saw many plugins which made awesome functionality.This is another plugin which is pretty useful for facebook fan web page.

  37. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later. Cheers

  38. Webmaster, I am the admin at SEOPlugins.org. We profile SEO Plugins for WordPress blogs for on-site and off-site SEO. I’d like to invite you to check out our recent profile for a pretty amazing plugin which can double or triple traffic for a Worpdress blog and we just posted a video showing the plugin in action. You can delete this comment, I didn’t want to comment on your blog, just wanted to drop you a personal message. Thanks, Rich

  39. Many thanks for this infographic! now i am lovin google plus

  40. Brilliant post many thanks! Seems to work perfectly well with all the latest versions of wordpress as well (3.3)
    Made the code a lot cleaner as mentioned and seems to have made life much easier when trying to implement the comments form into side areas ect. (Had a nightmare with previous use of your normal code)

  41. Absolutely written written content , thanks for selective information .

  42. I simply want to say I’m very new to blogging and site-building and honestly savored your web page. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your website . You definitely have very good article content. With thanks for sharing your website.

  43. I think one of your current advertisements initiated my internet browser to resize, you might well want to get that on your blacklist.

  44. You should really moderate the remarks at this site

  45. Just discovered this site thru Yahoo, what a pleasant shock!

  46. I love the blog site layout ! How did you make it!? It is really good!

  47. This is often a amazing web site, could you be interested in working on an interview about just how you made it? If so e-mail me and my friends!

  48. This is often a excellent website, could you be interested in working on an interview concerning just how you made it? If so e-mail me and my friends!

  49. Heya, I just hopped over to your webpage using StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would generally read, but I liked your thoughts none the less. Thank you for making some thing well worth reading through.

  50. Odd , this page shows up with a black color to it, what color is the primary color on your site?

  51. The look for your site is a bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your weblog. I might need to use a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  52. Re: Whoever created the statement that this was an excellent website really needs to have their head evaluated.

  53. I love the site layout . How did you make it!? Its so good!

  54. Just discovered this blog thru Yahoo, what a way to brighten up my week!

  55. I have got one suggestion for your web page. It appears like at this time there are a few cascading stylesheet issues while opening a number of web pages inside google chrome as well as safari. It is working alright in internet explorer. Perhaps you can double check this.

  56. Make money on new film releases! Meet the James Bond of Social Networking. Would you like to be the first person out of the gate to make money on feature film releases? http://www.nutvnetwork.com/paybackjackaffiliate.html

  57. Well I truly liked reading it. This tip provided by you is very useful for proper planning.

  58. I have a couple of query for you, create to those I don’t e-mail

  59. After reading your article and the ideas presented this piqued my interest. I have never been so intrigued with this subject before, but your writing style has renewed my interests. Thank you for posting this. http://www.samsung1080phdtv.net/

  60. Generally I don’t read post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thanks, very nice article.

Comments are closed.

